Thursday, January 22, 2009

House Ag Committee - ranking members

From the Republicans at the House Agriculture Committee:

Today, Ranking Republican Frank Lucas named six members to serve as Subcommittee Ranking Members on the Agriculture Committee. Former Chairman and Ranking Republican Bob Goodlatte will hold a leadership role, and two other veteran Subcommittee Ranking Members will remain in top positions. The Ranking Members are listed below.

“I am pleased to announce these new leadership posts for the Committee. All of the subcommittee Ranking Republicans are seasoned members and strong advocates for American agriculture. They understand the value of our farmers and ranchers and how important rural communities are to our nation’s economy,” said Ranking Republican Frank Lucas.

Lucas also announced that Rep. Bill Cassidy from Louisiana will be joining the Agriculture Committee. Rep. Cassidy represents the 6th Congressional District. Cassidy is a medical doctor from Baton Rouge. He also served a stint as a senator in the Louisiana State Legislature. Rice is the leading crop in his district, followed by dairy and timber.

The Subcommittee Ranking Members are listed below:
Rep. Bob Goodlatte, Virginia, will be the Ranking Republican on the Conservation, Credit, Energy, and Research Subcommittee.

Rep. Jerry Moran, Kansas, will be the Ranking Republican on the General Farm Commodities and Risk Management Subcommittee.

Rep. Randy Neugebauer, Texas, will be the Ranking Republican on the Livestock, Dairy, and Poultry Subcommittee.

Rep. K. Michael Conaway, Texas, will be the Ranking Republican on the Specialty Crops, Rural Development, and Foreign Agriculture Subcommittee.

Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska, will be the Ranking Republican on the Department Operations, Oversight, Nutrition, and Forestry Subcommittee.

Rep. Jean Schmidt, Ohio, will be the Ranking Republican on the Horticulture and Organic Agriculture Subcommittee.

An updated list of Agriculture Committee Republicans follows:
Frank Lucas, Ranking Member, (OK-3)
Bob Goodlatte (VA-6)
Jerry Moran (KS-1)
Timothy V. Johnson (IL-15)
Sam Graves (MO-6)
Mike Rogers (AL-3)
Steve King (IA-5)
Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
K. Michael Conaway (TX-11)
Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1)
Jean Schmidt (OH-2)
Adrian Smith (NE-3)
Robert E. Latta (OH-5)
Phil Roe (TN-1)*
Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9)*
Glenn W. Thompson (PA-5)*
Bill Cassidy (LA-6)*

*new members
There is one vacancy

No comments: