Thursday, February 25, 2016

Rep. Conaway Awarded Farm Bureau ‘Golden Plow’

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 25, 2016 – American Farm Bureau Federation President Zippy Duvall presented Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Texas), chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, with AFBF’s “Golden Plow” award Wednesday evening during the Farm Bureau Advocacy Conference. The Golden Plow is the highest recognition the organization grants members of Congress.

The Texas Farm Bureau nominated Conaway for the award because of his dedicated work as a member of Congress on issues important to Farm Bureau members. As chairman of the House Ag Committee, he played a major role in the passage of the 2014 farm bill, and remains involved in defending its programs and overseeing its implementation by the Agriculture Department, Duvall said.

Conaway is also a champion for crop insurance. When a $3 billion cut was included in the bipartisan budget agreement, he led the fight to ensure funding would be restored in the final bill. More recently, his early involvement with the redrafting of federal dietary guidelines resulted in recommendations that were true to their intended purpose.

Further, without Chairman Conaway’s leadership, the Safe and Accurate Food Labeling Act – GMO legislation – would not have passed the House.

“We are tremendously pleased to be able to recognize Chairman Conaway for all the great things he has done for America’s farmers and ranchers,” Duvall said. “Thank you for your dedicated service to agriculture and rural America.”

AFBF’s Golden Plow award recognizes members of Congress for distinguished agricultural leadership and support of Farm Bureau policies. Recipients are chosen based on having a philosophy or record that demonstrates a commitment to the private enterprise system, sound agricultural policies supported by Farm Bureau, fiscal conservatism, and reduced federal regulation of businesses and individuals.

No comments: