Sunday, May 22, 2011

Hennessy/Hill Award Winners Honored at NRA Show 2011

Hennessy/Hill Award Winners Honored at NRA Show 2011
Joint breakfast recognizes top Air Force, Marine Corps foodservice facilities

( Chicago)  The National Restaurant Association today honored outstanding military foodservice facilities at the fourth annual Joint Armed Services breakfast at Chicago’s Sheraton Hotel & Towers. The 2011 U.S. Air Force’s John L. Hennessy Awards and U.S. Marine Corp’s Gen. W.P.T. Hill Awards were presented during this year's National Restaurant Association Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show. Both awards are sponsored by the National Restaurant Association and recognize excellence at bases worldwide. 

“We have a long tradition of honoring our nation’s military personnel through the Hennessy/Hill Awards program, and celebrate the commitment to serve world-class meals at Air Force and Marine Corps bases at home and abroad,” said Dawn Sweeney, President and CEO of the National Restaurant Association. “This year’s winners exhibit outstanding professionalism, culinary passion and skills that represent the best of our industry. It is our honor to recognize their achievements.”

This year’s featured speaker at the breakfast award ceremony was Lieutenant General Darrell D. Jones, Deputy Chief of Staff for Manpower, Personnel and Services Headquarters, U.S. Air Force in Washington, D.C.  

The 2011 John L. Hennessy Award winners are:
  • Multiple Facility Base: Hurlburt Field, Fla.
  • Single Facility Base: Kirtland AFB, N.M.
  • AFGSC Best in Missile Feeding Operations: 91st Space Wing, Minot AFB, N.D.
  • USAFE Food Service Small Site Award: 702nd Munitions Support Squadron, Buechel Air Base, Germany

The 2011 Major General W.P.T. Hill Award winners are:
  • Best Military/Contractor Garrison Mess Hall: Mess Hall 1223, Camp Kinser, MCB Camp S.D. Butler, Okinawa, Japan
  • Best Reserve Field Mess: HQSVCo, 6th ESB, 4th MLG, Portland, Ore.
  • Best Full Food Service Contracted Garrison Mess Hall: Mess Hall 1660, MAGTF-TC, 29 Palms, Calif.
  • Best Active Field Mess: CLR 27, 2nd MLG, II MEF, Camp Lejeune, N.C.

The 2011 Hennessy Travelers’ Association (HTA) Award of Excellence was also presented. This award honors Airmen who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism, attitude and culinary skill:
  • Multiple-Facility Category: SRA Melissa R. Caballero, Barksdale AFB, La.
  • Single-Facility Category: A1C Rebecca A. LaBelle, Davis-Monthan AFB, Ariz.

In addition, the inaugural Arthur J. Myers Awards for Foodservice Excellence was presented. This award is judged on professionalism, attitude, commitment to service, culinary skill and team spirit, as well as how the individual influence others and display leadership qualities:
  • A1C Jeffrey L. Peoples, Hurlburt Fld., Fla.
  • A1C Kevin J. Pordon, RAF Mildenhall, United Kingdom 

Both the Air Force and Marine Corps appoint traveling teams that combine military and private sector expertise to evaluate domestic and international installations and recommend the winners of the coveted trophies. A National Restaurant Association Board Member serves on each of the four traveling teams. Each Air Force team also includes a representative from either the Society for Foodservice Management Board or the International Food Service Executives Association. Foodservice units for the Air Force Reserves, the Air National Guard, and small sites in Europe (USAFE) are evaluated separately through their headquarters, but are also honored for their achievements during the program.

The annual National Restaurant Association Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show, held at Chicago’s McCormick Place May 21-24, 2011, is the largest and most comprehensive global gathering of restaurant, foodservice and lodging professionals. The event attracts tens of thousands of attendees and visitors from all 50 states and 100+ countries, and showcases more products, services, innovative ideas and other growth opportunities than any other industry event. For more information, visit the Show website at

No comments: